SCIENCE INITIATIVE HARIPAD KERALA INDIA

How NASA's New Mars Rover Will Phone Home

After NASA's Curiosity rover lands on Mars this weekend, one of its first orders of business will be to call home. Mission managers back on Earth will be eagerly awaiting news of the $2.5 billion Mars Science Laboratory rover, which is due to land at 10:30 p.m. PDT on Aug. 5 (1:30 a.m. EDT, 0530 GMT, Aug. 6), beginning a two-year mission. In fact, for the first 90 days of the mission, controllers will work together as if each day were 24 hours and 40 minutes long — the approximate length of a Martian day. "It's to get the most use possible for the rover while it's fresh and new on Mars," says Ashwin Vasavada, MSL's deputy project scientist. "Ideally, we'd do it for the next 10 years, but the reality is, after 90 days it's better for everyone to go back to Earth time."Continue....
1.More details about Curiosity  
2.Curiosity's Seven Minutes of Terror 
3.Cutiosity image gallery 
4. Mars Science Laboratory

0 comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

Followers